Local Advisors

On 1 April 2021, The Emmbrook School converted to academy status and joined the Circle Trust, a Multi-Academy Trust (MAT), made up of nine schools in the local area.

The Trustees of the Circle Trust are responsible for the running of all their schools, including The Emmbrook School.  However, certain functions and decision-making is delegated to the Local Advisory Board of each school.

The local Advisory Board has a similar role to that of the Governing Body, which managed the School prior to conversion, but their remit is set out within the Trust’s Scheme of Delegation. The Local Advisory Board will also follow the Trust’s Policies and Procedures. 

Local Advisors work closely with the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team and continue to follow the Department of Education and Local Authority guidelines.  However, as a charitable company, the Circle Trust has articles of association and a scheme of delegation.  These are legal documents, which set out the governance composition, and procedures for the Trust, and Local Advisors must operate in accordance with these.

Ten Local Advisors currently make up the Local Advisory Board of the Emmbrook School.  There are currently seven co-opted local advisors, two parent elected advisors, and one staff advisor.

Local Advisors have a broad range of skills, a diversity of experience, and a range of perspectives, to enable effective governance for the School.  They are all volunteers who give a significant investment of their time and expertise to the school, putting the needs and well-being of students and staff at the forefront of what they do. 

The current Local Advisors are: 

Staff Local Advisor

Mrs Madeleine Lloyd

Co-opted Local Advisors

Mr Chris Rothwell - Chair of Local Advisory Board

Mr Claymore Richardson - Joint Vice-Chair of Local Advisors and Link Advisor - Safeguarding
Mr Peter Collins - Link Advisor - Attendance

Mr Paul Tuthill - Link Advisor - Careers

Mr Mark HolmesLink Advisor - Professional Development (Started September 2023)

Dr. Obi Ofeanyi Link Advisor - Finance  (Started October2023)

Ms Caroline Saunders

Parent Local Advisors

Mrs Emma Wilkinson - Link Advisor SEND

Prof. Theoni Georgiou

Further information on the Emmbrook School Local Advisors can be found using the links below. 

Parent Local Advisor Election – Spring 2024

TES LAB Parent Election Headteacher Nomination Letter Spring Term 2024

TES The Circle Trust parent Local Advisor nomination form Spring Term 2024

The Circle Trust arrangements for parent Local Advisor elections

The Circle Trust guidance re role of Local Advisors

If you would like to find out more about the role of the local advisors or if you wish to contact the governors regarding a specific matter, please feel free to contact the Clerk to Local Advisors, Sharon Ketley by email at EmmbrookGovernanceOfficer@thecircletrust.co.uk.

Chris Rothwell

Chair of Local Advisors

C/O The Emmbrook School, Emmbrook Road, Wokingham, RG41 1JP

Circle Trust Governance